

### **IOWA Single Contact Repository**



#### October 2014

The Single Contact Repository (SING) provides authorized agencies Internet access to Iowa Criminal History and Sex Offender Registry (SOR) information held by the Dept. of Public Safety / Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI), Department of Human Services' (DHS) Central Abuse Registry for Child and Dependent Adult Abuse, as well as Professional License information. This Internet access will give an immediate response to your search, indicating if there is nothing found in the database/registry or if further research is required. If nothing is found, your search is complete. If there is further research required for Iowa criminal history or sex offender registry information, a request is submitted on your behalf to DCI to perform a more in-depth search. If there is a Record Found on either the criminal history or sex offender registry, you will receive a Form S indicating results, along with an Iowa criminal history "rap sheet". Results will be returned to you via mail or fax. If, after further research, there is ultimately no record found, it will be up to the SING user to check for a final result in the transaction log on SING and take a screen print of the final results as needed. For child and adult abuse registries, additional contact with DHS Central Abuse Registry will be necessary. For Professional License searches, further action may also be necessary.

There is a fee associated with each SING check submitted. The fee schedule is as follows:

Criminal History + SOR/Abuse Registries Check and/or Professional License check	\$15
Criminal History only	\$15
SOR/Abuse Registries and/or Professional License only	<b>\$2</b>

You will have the option of entering a second last name for the same individual within one SING transaction, at no additional charge. The fees for each SING transaction will be paid from the account which must be established with DCI. Accounts may be pre-paid or the user may provide a credit card number during each SING transaction.

For each SING transaction that includes a criminal history check, you will be asked to verify whether or not your agency has obtained a waiver signature from the subject of the SING request. Iowa law does not require a signed waiver from the subject in order to process a criminal history record check. However, without a signed waiver your agency will not receive the following:

- (1) Deferred judgments where probation has been successfully completed, and/or
- (2) Arrest information older than 18 months where DCI has not received a disposition from the court.

If you answer "yes" DCI will be able to provide you with all Iowa criminal history record information on file. **You must retain the signed waiver and be able to provide it if requested by DCI**. If you answer "no" DCI will process the request as a non-waiver and filter out the information identified above, if applicable. Therefore, it is important for your agency to have a signed waiver on file whenever possible in order to receive all possible Iowa criminal history record information.

Child and dependent adult abuse information is confidential and may not be re-disseminated. If your agency is authorized to access the DHS Central Abuse Registry for child and adult abuse information to complete an employee background check, it is necessary for all persons in your agency who will be accessing child or dependent adult abuse information via SING to sign a copy of the enclosed Non-Redissemination Agreement. If your agency will not have access to the child and dependent adult abuse registries, there is no need to sign this form. In signing the Agreement, each employee who will be using the Single Contact Repository, is agreeing to abide by the laws of re-dissemination of child and dependent adult abuse, established in Iowa Code, Sections 235A.17 and 235B.8; and will be subject to criminal penalties as set forth in Iowa Code, Sections 235A.21 and 235B.12.

You will be notified of your SING ID and password, along with instructions via email from OCIO. You will receive your Billing Account Number from DCI via email. Generally, these are established within one week of receipt of the Request for Access/Billing Account Form. Once these are received you will have immediate access to Iowa criminal history and sex offender registry. Access to the Central Abuse Registry is determined by DHS and may take longer for approval.





I am requesting access to the Single Contact Repository (SING) in order to receive Iowa Criminal History, Iowa Sex Offender Registry, Central Abuse Registry, and/or Professional License information on potential employees, clients and volunteers. Use of SING is in compliance with all regulations regarding access to information contained in these databases and I have legal authorization to perform each of the background checks on the individuals I submit. I understand a Billing Account with the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) is required to obtain access to SING and there is a fee for each transaction made.

Organization:
Type of Organization:         Healthcare         □         Child Care Center         □         Foster Care/Adoption         □         School         □
College □ State Agency □ Staffing Agency □ Employment Screening □ Other (specify) □
Address: Street
City, State Zip
Contact Person:
Email Address:
Phone Number: (Area code first)
Fax Number: (Area code first)
As stated above, use of this id is in compliance of all regulations regarding access to information contained in each database. Please answer the following questions completely to determine your eligibility. This information is <b>required</b> to allow access to SING. If this section is incomplete and you are requesting access to the Central Abuse Registry, access will be denied.
Which SING databases are you <u>required</u> to check before you hire an employee or continue licensure?
Criminal history □ Sex Offender Registry □ Child Abuse Registry □ Dependent Adult Abuse Registry □
If access to the Central Abuse Registry is being requested, state the Code of Iowa reference that allows you access to the database(s) (refer to <a href="www.legis.iowa.gov">www.legis.iowa.gov</a> )
Is your agency required by Iowa Code to perform an evaluation through DHS if there is criminal history or abuse founded on potential employees/licensees?
What is the number of requests you anticipate performing annually?



# **IOWA Single Contact Repository**

## Request for Access/Billing Account (cont'd)



	<b>ount</b> to conduct Iowa criminal history r ivision of Criminal Investigation to esta		3 SING. We are submitting a \$200
Iowa Divisio	he minimum amount of \$200 will be a on of Criminal Investigation, Attn. Crist copy of this form.	-	Street, Des Moines IA 50319,
	d (MasterCard, Visa or Discover) tra gh SING upon initial logon.	nsaction in the m	inimum amount of \$200 will be
*Prepaid accounts may be replenis transaction in the minimum amoun	shed by mailing a check in any amount to the state of \$200 via SING.	to the address abov	re or by submitting a credit card
A credit car	ccount to conduct Iowa criminal histor d (MasterCard, Visa or Discover only		
search is red		· · -	
Iowa criminal history returne	ed results:		
	nal history record checks via SING, if fu OCI researches it further and sends the f		
Please choose how you would lik	e the results returned to you:		
□ FAX □	MAIL		
Please complete and return  Patsy Tallman, SING Admini Office of the Chief Informatio Hoover Building Level B Des Moines, IA 50319-0141  For further information regarding pages	istrator	<b>-or-</b> va Division of Crim	<b>Fax 515-281-6137</b> ninal Investigation, at 515-725-6070.
To be completed by OCIO/DCI or	nly		
ID	Group		
Account Number	Doymont		Doculto

### NON-REDISSEMINATION AGREEMENT

As a condition of electronically accessing child and dependent adult abuse information from the Internet Single Contact Repository, our agency agrees to abide by the laws of Redissemination of child and dependent adult abuse information before conducting a child or dependent adult abuse history record check. We have access to this information under Iowa Code section 235A.15, for child abuse, and Iowa Code section 235B.6, for dependent adult abuse.

Our signature on this agreement indicates that our agency understands and agrees to the legal provisions for handling child and dependent adult abuse information established in Iowa Code sections 235A.17 and 235B.8, and is subject to the criminal penalties as set forth in Iowa Code sections 235A.21 and 235B.12.

#### Redissemination of Child and Dependent Adult Abuse Information (Iowa Code 235A.17 and 235B.8).

A person, agency, or other recipient of child or dependent adult abuse information shall not redisseminate (release) information, except that redissemination is permitted when ALL of the following conditions apply:

- The redissemination is for official purposes in connection with prescribed duties, or in the case of a health practitioner, pursuant to professional responsibilities.
- The person to whom such information would be redisseminated would have independent access to the same information under Iowa Code sections 235A.15 and 235B.6.
- A written record is made of the redissemination, including the name of the recipient and the date and purpose of the redissemination.
- The written record is forwarded to the Central Abuse Registry within 30 days of the redissemination.

A person is guilty of a criminal offense when the person:

- Willfully requests, obtains, or seeks to obtain child or dependent adult abuse information under false pretense, or
- Willfully communicates or seeks to communicate child or dependent adult abuse information to any agency or person, except in accordance with Iowa Code sections 235A.15, 235A.17, 235.B.6, and 235B.8, or
- Is connected with any research authorized pursuant to Iowa Code sections 235A.15 and 235B.6 and willfully falsifies child or dependent adult abuse information or any records relating to child or dependent adult abuse.

Upon conviction for each offense, the person shall be punished by a fine of up to \$1,000, by imprisonment for not more than two years, or by both fine and imprisonment.

Any person who knowingly, but without criminal purposes, communicates or seeks to communicate child or dependent adult abuse information (except in accordance with Iowa Code sections 235A.15, 235A.17, 235B.6 and 235B.8) shall for each such offense be fined not more than \$100 or be imprisoned not more than ten days.

Any reasonable grounds for belief that a person has violated any provision of Iowa Coded Chapters 235A or 235B shall be grounds for the immediate withdrawal of any authorized access that person or agency might otherwise have to child or dependent adult abuse information.

### **Conditions of Agreement**

We agree to have every employee who will have access to child and dependent adult abuse electronic information sign a copy of this *Non-Redissemination Agreement* and keep it in a file at this facility or agency to allow the licensure agency personnel to view this agreement on request

The agreement signed by the administrator of the agency or facility will be sent to the Department of Human Services, Central Abuse Registry, 401 SW 7<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite G, Floor, Des Moines, IA 50319-3574, and a copy will be posted within sight of the electronic information system work area.

We understand that this agreement will allow our agency or facility to receive any child or dependent adult abuse information maintained by the DHS as allowed under Chapter 235A and 235B of the Iowa Code. We understand that without a signed agreement on file our agency or facility will not have access to child and dependent adult abuse information.

Name of Facility or Agency
realize of Fueling of Figure 9
Administrator ( <b>type or print name</b> )
Signature of Administrator