NASS Administrative Rules Organization Honors Iowa Office of the Chief Information Officer with 2015 Colborn Award

Public Comment Website for Administrative Rules Earns Iowa CIO the 2015 Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Award

For Immediate Release

July 21, 2015

WASHINGTON, DC – Administrative Codes and Registers (ACR), a section of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), has selected Iowa's Office of the Chief Information Officer as recipient of the 2015 Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award. It is the first time that Iowa has received the national honor.

The lowa CIO's office received this year's Colborn Award for its lowa Public Comment Website for Administrative Rules (https://rules.iowa.gov/), which enables citizens to be more informed and engaged in the state's administrative rule making process while streamlining the method for commenting on proposed rules.

"Since taking office, our administration has made government transparency a priority," said Iowa Governor Terry Branstad.

"The new administrative rules website developed by lowa's Office of the Chief Information Officer allows citizens to read, review and comment on rules from any place there is an internet connection. With the emergence of technology in our daily lives, government, too, can adapt to better serve the taxpayers."

lowa's Public Comment Website for Administrative Rules is based on a collaboration between legislative and executive branch leaders, using key design criteria and creativity to make the site simple to use and mobile-friendly.

"This is our mission – to provide quick access and efficient services, and we are proud and quite fortunate that we have the staff to be able to deliver these innovative, responsive and meaningful solutions" said Bob von Wolffradt, Chief Information Officer for the State of Iowa.

Presented during the ACR's annual conference, held July 9 through 12 in Portland, Maine, the Colborn Award annually recognizes a state program that demonstrates creativity and innovation in providing public access to, or management of, administrative rules. The award also highlights improved efficiency and delivery of services to citizens, businesses and other governmental entities.

The award's namesake, Robert J. Colborn, Jr., founded ACR and served as the administrator of the Maryland Division of State Documents from 1974 through 2001.

2015 ACR Robert J. Colborn Jr. Committee

- Deanna Maiolo, Chair Manager, Colorado Administrative Rules Program
- Jane Chaffin Emeritus ACR President, Registrar of Regulations, Virginia Division of Legislative Services
- Molly Masich Codifier of Rules, North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings

Past Colborn Award Recipients

2014 – Colorado Administrative Rules Program

2013 – Utah Division of Administrative Rules

2012 - Award not issued

2011 – Florida Division of Library and Information Services

2010 – New Mexico State Records Center and Archives Administrative Law Division

2009 – Virginia Division of Legislative Services

2008 – Arkansas Secretary of State

2007 – Colorado Secretary of State

2006 – Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

2004 – Office of the Federal Register

 ${\bf 2003-Missouri\,Secretary\,\,of\,State,\,Administrative\,Rules\,\,Division}$

2002 – Virginia Department of Planning and Budget For more information, visit www.administrativerules.org.

About NASS

Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, digital archiving, international relations and state securities regulation, as well as several well-established awards programs.

The organization also offers two issues-based membership sections for state government professionals:

- Administrative Codes & Registers (ACR)
- Notary Public Administrators (NPA)

For media questions, contact: Kay Stimson NASS Director of Communications 202-624-3528 (o) | 703-869-5868 (c) nass@sso.org

Visit www.nass.org. Follow us on Twitter: @NASSorg. Get Facebook updates at: www.facebook.com/pages/National-Association-of-Secretaries-of-State-NASS/17949954131. Nonpartisan voting info at www.CanlVote.org

Need to reach NASS? Call our main line at 202-624-3525.